ProcessMaker API Documentation
ProcessMaker Examples

Configure a Screen

Edit general information about a Screen.

Configure a ProcessMaker Screen

Permissions Required

Your user account or group membership must have the following permissions to configure a Screen unless your user account has the Make this user a Super Admin setting selected:

  • Screens: Edit Screens

  • Screens: View Screens

See the Screens permissions or ask your Administrator for assistance.

Edit Your ProcessMaker Screen

Click the Edit iconor click the Screen name. See Screens Builder for topics.

Configure General Settings

Follow these steps to configure a Screen:

  1. View your Screens. The Screens page displays.

  2. Click the Configure iconfor your Screen. The Edit Configuration page displays.

  3. Edit the following information about the Screen as necessary:

    • In the Name setting, edit the unique name of the Screen. This is a required field.

    • In the Description setting, edit the description of the Screen. This is a required setting.

    • From the Category drop-down menu, select one or more Screen Categories to associate with this Screen. In doing so, Screen Categories may be sorted from the Screens page. To remove a Screen Category that is currently selected, click the icon for that selection or press Enter when the drop-down is visible. This is a required setting.

  4. Click Save.

Configure Version History

Package and Permissions Required

The Versioning package must be installed to view or edit the version history for a Screen.

Furthermore, your user account or group membership must have the following permissions unless your user account has the Make this user a Super Admin setting selected:

  • Screens: Edit Screens

  • Screens: View Screens

  • Version History: Edit Version History

  • Version History: View Version History

See the Screens and Version History permissions or ask your Administrator for assistance.

A version is a set of changes made to a Screen at a particular time by a Process Designer. Versioning maintains a record of all named and unnamed changes to that Screen. Any of these versions may be viewed or retrieved, if needed. The Version History page displays all saved versions of the Screen in a tabular format from where they can be edited and/or marked as the Current Version according to your business needs. The current version of the Screen is used in all new Requests and in-progress Requests. See the Versioning package for more information.

Follow these steps to view or edit the version history of your Screen:

  1. View your Screens. The Screens page displays.

  2. Click the Configure iconfor your Screen. The Configuration tab of the Edit Configuration page displays.

  3. Click on the Version History tab. The Version History page displays. The Version History page organizes versions in a monthly format and displays the following information:

    • Date: The date and time of when a Process Designer saved this version in the Screen Builder.

    • Current Version: The most recent version of the Screen is displayed at the top and is marked as the Current Version. This version is used in all in-progress and new Requests.

    • Name: The name of this version as entered by a Process Designer when saving the Screen in the Screen Builder.

    • Description: A description of the changes in this version as entered by a Process Designer when saving the Screen in the Screen Builder.

    • Saved by: The name of the Process Designer who saved this version.

  4. Toggle the Only show named versions toggle key to show only the versions with a name assigned to them.

  5. Click the Change Version Details iconto edit version details for this version. The Change Version Details screen displays.

  6. Optionally, edit any of the following existing details about this named version:

    1. In the Version Name setting, edit the name to this named version. If saving this named version with no name, this version does not display in the Version History page if the Only show named versions toggle key is enabled.

    2. In the Additional Details (optional) setting, edit the details about this version. For example, describe the changes in this version for auditing, historical, or maintenance purposes.

    3. Click Confirm and Save to save your changes. Otherwise, click Cancel.

  7. Click the Copy to Latest iconto set a version as the current version. The Copy to Latest screen displays. The screen displays the warning This version will become the active version for this asset, indicating that this action will set this version as the current version.

  8. Click Confirm and Save to set this version as the current version. Otherwise, click Cancel.

Related Topics