ProcessMaker 4.1
ProcessMaker API Documentation
ProcessMaker Examples
Powered By GitBook
Save Your Screen
Save your designed Screen.

Save a ProcessMaker Screen

A Screen can be saved in Design mode.

Permissions Required

Your user account or group membership must have the following permissions to save a Screen unless your user account has the Make this user a Super Admin setting selected:
    Screens: Edit Screens
    Screens: View Screens
See the Screens permissions or ask your Administrator for assistance.
A Screen can be saved in two ways depending if the Versioning package is installed. See the following sections regarding how a Screen may be saved:

Save a Single Version of a Screen

Click the Save icon
from Screen Builder's top menu to save the Screen.‌ When the Versioning package is not installed, this action overwrites any previous changes made to this Screen and a record of previous changes is not maintained. To save multiple versions of a Screen, the Versioning package must be installed.

Save Multiple Versions of a Screen

Package Required

The Versioning package must be installed to save multiple versions of a Screen.
When the Versioning package is installed, multiple versions of a Screen can be saved. A version is a set of changes made to a Screen at a particular time by a Process Designer. Versioning maintains a record of all named and unnamed changes to that Screen. Any of these versions may be viewed or retrieved, if needed. See the Versioning package for more information.
Follow these guidelines to save a new version of your Screen:‌
    1.
    Click the Save icon
    from Screen Builder's top menu.‌
    2.
    If the Versioning package is installed, the Commit Changes screen displays to save a new version of this Screen.
    3.
    Do one of the following:
      Save an unnamed version:
      Follow these steps to save an unnamed version:
        1.
        Click Save to save an unnamed version. Otherwise, click Cancel to return to the Screen Builder without saving this version. As a best practice, save unnamed versions only to save work that is in active development and do not need a "milestone" set for this Screen. Otherwise, Process Designers that manage versions of this Screen do not view unnamed versions when the Only show named versions toggle key is enabled while viewing that Screen's version history.
      Save a named version:
      Follow these steps to save a named version:
        1.
        In the Version Name setting, enter a name for this version. The version name displays when viewing the version history of that Screen and helps identify this version. Although this setting is not required, as a best practice name each version for easier maintenance, documentation, and auditing purposes. Name the version that describes the "milestone" set for this Screen.
        2.
        In the Additional Details (optional) setting, optionally enter details of the changes made in this version. The additional details display when viewing the version history of that Screen and helps other Process Designers or Administrators understand the changes made in that version. Enter details which concisely summarize the changes made in this version.
        3.
        Click Save to save this version. Otherwise, click Cancel to return to the Screen Builder without saving this version.
Do you need to export this Screen? Click the Export Screen button
. See Export a Screen for more information.

Related Topics

Last modified 2mo ago